2 Seuss Award Winners

seuss award “The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.” From the ALA website.

bink and gollie

DiCamillo, Kate and Alison McGhee. Bink and Gollie. Illustrated by Tony Fucile. Candlewick Press, 2010. 96 pages. $15.99 ISBN-13: 978-0763632663

Bink and Gollie are friends.  They share adventures and meals in this book of short stories.

Genre: Easy Reader Fiction

Age range: 5-8

Rating 4 out of 5 for quality, 4 out of 5 for popularity.

Theodor Suess Geisel Award, 2011

Bink and Gollie are friends that love each other but who often need to compromise in order to get what they want. Bink is younger, wilder, Gollie older, and more reserved, but these girls love an adventure and want to head outside (or into their imaginations) to move and play. In the first story they go roller skating and Bink buys some rainbow socks, which Gollie disapproves of. In the second story, Gollie is trying to climb the Andes and Bink just wants to hang out, but keeps being confronted by do not disturb signs at Gollie’s front door. The final story is one where Bink adopts a goldfish and wants him to come roller skating with her, but this has disastrous results, luckily Gollie saves the day.

This is such a charming book about friendship and compromise. Both girls work to come together despite irritations and different outlooks. The illustrations of their unique quirkiness and coloring the characters but not the backgrounds help to emphasize the importance of their relationship.  It is a wonderful, fun book to read aloud.

Read-alikes:

Frog and Toad are Friends by Arnold Lobel

Ivy and Bean by Annie Barrows

Lulu and the Brontosaurus by Judith Viorst

Discussion Questions

1. Bink and Gollie are very different, and yet are friends, how do you think that works out?

2. How do Bink and Gollie resolve their differences?

Boolktalking

Here are two very different girls, one tall, one short, who are fast friends and like to adventure together. They also like to share pancakes.

Resources:

http://www.binkandgollie.com/

Kate DiCamillo website http://www.katedicamillo.com/

Alison McGhee website http://www.alisonmcghee.com/

 watermelon seed

Pizzoli, Greg. The Watermelon Seed.  Disney/Hyperion Books, 2013. 32 pages. $16.99 ISBN-13: 978-1423171010

The crocodile loves watermelon, but gets worried when he accidently swallows a seed.

Genre: Easy Reader Fiction

Age 5-7

Rating: 3 out of 5 for quality, 4 out of 5 for popularity.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, 2014

Using simple and colorful illustrations and easy reader words, this book tells the story of a crocodile who loves watermelon, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But when he accidently swallows a seed, he worries about the possibilities. The illustrations are bold and carried out successfully with just four colors: watermelon pink, green, black and white. This book will appeal to a young audience that finds burps funny and will relate to the silliness of the crocodile fixating on his favorite foods. The cover and illustrations are appealing, as is a book that an adult can find funny when reading aloud.

Book Discussion Questions:

  1. Could a watermelon seed grow in your belly?
  2. Would you still eat watermelon after eating a seed? Do you think the crocodile will?

Booktalking

What happens when you eat a watermelon seed? This crocodile might find out!

Resources

Author Website http://gregpizzoli.com/

Interview with author at Design of the Picture Book

Book Trailer

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s